Read The Fat Black Woman's Poems by Grace Nichols Free Online

Ebook The Fat Black Woman's Poems by Grace Nichols read! Book Title: The Fat Black Woman's Poems
The author of the book: Grace Nichols
Date of issue: September 13th 1984
ISBN: 0860686353
ISBN 13: 9780860686354
Language: English
Format files: PDF
The size of the: 19.77 MB
Edition: Virago

Read full description of the books The Fat Black Woman's Poems:

Grace Nichols gives us images that stare us straight in the eye, images of joy, challenge, accusation. Her 'fat black woman' is brash; rejoices in herself; poses awkward questions to politicians, rulers, suitors, to a white world that still turns its back. Grace Nichols writes in a language that is wonderfully vivid yet economical of the pleasures and sadnesses of memory, of loving, of 'the power to be what I am, a woman, charting my own futures'.

Read Ebooks by Grace Nichols

Read information about the author

Ebook The Fat Black Woman's Poems read Online! Grace Nichols was born in Georgetown, Guyana, in 1950 and grew up in a small country village on the Guyanese coast. She moved to the city with her family when she was eight, an experience central to her first novel, Whole of a Morning Sky (1986), set in 1960s Guyana in the middle of the country's struggle for independence.

She worked as a teacher and journalist and, as part of a Diploma in Communications at the University of Guyana, spent time in some of the most remote areas of Guyana, a period that influenced her writings and initiated a strong interest in Guyanese folk tales, Amerindian myths and the South American civilisations of the Aztec and Inca. She has lived in the UK since 1977.

Her first poetry collection, I is a Long-Memoried Woman, was published in 1983. The book won the Commonwealth Poetry Prize and a subsequent film adaptation of the book was awarded a gold medal at the International Film and Television Festival of New York. The book was also dramatised for radio by the BBC. Subsequent poetry collections include The Fat Black Woman's Poems (1984), Lazy Thoughts of a Lazy Woman (1989), and Sunris (1996). She also writes books for children, inspired predominantly by Guyanese folklore and Amerindian legends, including Come on into My Tropical Garden (1988) and Give Yourself a Hug (1994). Everybody Got A Gift (2005) includes new and selected poems, and her collection, Startling the Flying Fish (2006), contains poems which tell the story of the Caribbean.

Her latest books are Picasso, I Want My Face Back (2009); and I Have Crossed an Ocean: Selected Poems (2010).

Grace Nichols lives in England with her partner, the poet John Agard.

Ebooks PDF Epub

Add a comment to The Fat Black Woman's Poems

Read EBOOK The Fat Black Woman's Poems by Grace Nichols Online free

Download PDF: the-fat-black-womans-poems.pdf The Fat Black Woman's Poems PDF